All About Daily Doncaster UK News

North Carolina Window Tint Law

Sep 12

The North Carolina window tint law regulates the tinting of car windows. It is applicable to all passenger vehicles such as convertibles, sedans, hardtops, station vehicles with hatchbacks, SUVs and station wagons. The law permits non-reflective tint on windshields up to an AS-1 line, but is a bit more restrictive on tinting the back side windows and rear windows to 35 percent of the total window area.

Medical exemptions for special tint

Medical exemptions to tinting for windows are allowed in certain states and must be presented at the time of application. In general, you have to show the signature of your physician certifying that you are suffering from a medical condition or medical condition that stops you from safely driving at an appropriate tint. The document must be kept in your car throughout the day.

Medical exemptions are very easy to get and can be renewed annually. A doctor's recommendation must be submitted with the application. The vehicle must be in an area that can be easily seen. Medical exemptions are not available for those who have been found guilty of drug or violent criminal acts. For instance, in North Carolina, drivers can obtain medical exemptions to window tints when they have an illness that is medically ascribed to them.

North Carolina has special laws concerning tinting, which includes the use of tints that are greater than twenty percent. It is the Division of Motor Vehicles refers tinting of less than twenty percent over to the Medical Review Unit for review. Those who qualify for a medical exemption are permitted to tint their vehicle at greater percentages, so they comply with the regulations. The tint must be on the left-hand side of the back window. Failure to do so can result in a $200 fine.

To be granted a medical exclusion for window tint in North Carolina, you must submit a valid medical exemption letter from your physician. The medical document must contain that the minimal percentage of light transmission and include the expiration date. Your physician can also provide an affidavit signed by you stating your disease or physical illness. If your doctor approves your exemption, then you need to ensure that you keep your medical exemption permit displayed in your vehicle in all times.

Some states do NOT grant medical exemptions for tinted windows. It is possible that you will need to submit a signed letter from an approved doctor that states that you are suffering from an illness that hinders you from driving safely. It is important to remember that you'll need to present your form in the Office of Vehicle and Motor Carrier Services before you can use window tint in your vehicle.

Requirement of a medical exception permit

For North Carolina, drivers with an underlying type of light sensitivity are able to obtain a medical exception permit which allows them to get the darker tint of their window. First, they must apply to the Drivers Medical Evaluation Program and get their doctor to fill out certain forms. This certificate is valid for five consecutive years. To renew it, you must be issued a medical certificate from a licensed physician , or any other medical professional. You can only have one medical exception permit at one time.

If you are in require of an medical exemption permit for window tinting it is possible to visit the Department of Motor Vehicles or the Department of Transportation to obtain one. The DMV needs a signed letter from a medical professional stating the tint isn't detrimental on your body. The letter must be printed on the letterhead of the doctor and taken with you in the car. It must also describe your physical condition.

A medical exception permit is valid for five years, however, it can get renewed through the DMEP if the condition persists. A medical exception permit is only valid for one automobile, and it only allows the tint to be applied to a specific window. It also has instructions on applying the tint, as well as the guidelines on how to apply it.

The medical exemption permits for North Carolina must be applied for through the Division of Motor Vehicles' Medical Review Program. Once you have been approved for medical exception, you are required to display the medical exceptions sticker on your rear window. Failure to display this sticker will result in penalties of up to $200.

A medical exception permit is required to tint windows within North Carolina for individuals with certain medical issues. They must get an DOT form 432020 with their physician prior to July 4 the 4th of July, 2012. You can request a replacement form through the Office of Vehicle and Motor Carrier Services.

The legally-required tint of windows for North Carolina depends on how much light gets through the window of your vehicle. A lower VLT will give the tint is darker, while a higher VLT means more light.

Legality of special tints in North Carolina

The legality of special tint for special tints in North Carolina depends on the extent of light transmission it blocks. The measure, also known as VLT differs from state to state and is determined by the kind of vehicle you have. A lower value for the VLT, the darker the tint will be while a higher value allows more light to flow through.

The state of North Carolina, the highest limit of tint allowed is 35%. In North Carolina, it is not legal for passenger vehicles to use greater than that. But, this is less for trucks and vans. The most tint is permitted for driver's windows. This level of tint can hinder the visibility of the vehicle, while increasing the privacy of the vehicle. But, it's not legal to install a higher level of tint in the back windows of a vehicle that is multi-purpose.

If you suffer from a medical condition, you can apply for a medical exception permission from the North Carolina DMV, which will allow you to put a darker tint to your windows. In order to qualify, you'll need to go through the Drivers Medical Evaluation Program (DMEP) and then have your physician complete the required paperwork. When you have your permit, it's valid for five years. In the following years, you will need to be recertified by a doctor. In addition, you cannot have multiple permits on your vehicle.

There are some exceptions to this rule. Cars hired as taxicabs, limousines or school bus are not subject to tinting rules. Other vehicles, like motor home and ambulances are able to be tinted. However, they must be at 20% reflective at the minimum. They should also be fitted with two side mirrors. Special tinting is legal for North Carolina if you meet the other requirements described above. It is important to note this: NC regulations regarding tint are very strict and can lead to an amount of $200.

When you are choosing the tint for your windows ensure that you have read the manufacturer's guidelines for your vehicle. Although the likelihood of being stopped are not high, it's always better to stick to the rules of the road, and stay clear of the inconvenience of a repair warrant.

Enforcement of the law

Window tint laws in North Carolina restricts the tinting on most windows, excluding those on the windshield, which is exempted. The tint must not exceed five inches and must not reflect. Vehicles with tinting above the AS-1 line are also exempt like motor homes and ambulances. Furthermore, tinting of the back windows of SUVs is permissible, as in the case that it's not reflective.

In the state of North Carolina, the law is enforced by local authorities. The legal tinting percentage for cars is 35 percent but the actual tint percentage can go as high as 20 percent. If you exceed this percentage then you'll be issued a violation notice and have remove your tint or pay a fine. In some cases it is possible to lose your driving privileges if you don't comply with the order.

Other requirements include the display of a medical exclusion sticker in the lower left-hand area of the back window. In the event of not displaying this sticker, it could result in a fine of $200. If you have an insulated rear window that is tinted it is also required to install two mirrors on the sides. And, as in any other state, you can't apply a tint that is too dark or blocks your view.

In North Carolina, violating the window tint law is a class 3 misdemeanor. In 2013 more than 12,500 charges were filed against those who violated the law. While you might want a darker tint, remember that the law helps pedestrians and drivers alike, and also makes it easier for law enforcement officers to identify you in the case in the event of an incident.

There are exceptions for the tinting law that apply in North Carolina for drivers with a medical condition. In these instances an exemption for medical reasons can be obtained through the NC DMV. It is valid for five years and is non-transferable. The permit has to be displayed in the vehicle's windows while the permit holder is driving.

Other exemptions of the window tint laws in North Carolina include certain commercial vehicles that aren't appropriate for public transport. For example, a school bus can be tinted; however, motor homes will not. The second category is property-hauling vehicles, including semi-trailers and trailers drawn on motor vehicles. Limousines and law enforcement vehicles are permitted to feature dark windows. Along with passenger vehicles multi-purpose vehicles, such as pickup trucks and minivans are allowed to use dark side and rear windows.

Address:  1122 US-130, Robbinsville Twp, NJ 08691, United States

Phone:      +1 609-208-3901